Dramatic finish to many netball semis

by Nathan Dole
THERE were dramatic finishes to many of the weekend’s semi-finals in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s netball action.

Week three of the finals series determined who would be first to the grand finals and also ended the season for those defeated in the first semi.

Gisborne is first to the A-grade grand final after the red, white and blue outplayed Sandhurst on the court at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The only team to beat Sandhurst in the home and away series, Gisborne played brilliant netball across four quarters to achieve a 57-45 victory.

Hot favourite to claim the premiership cup, Sandhurst’s path to glory takes a difficult turn.

The maroon and blue will now face Kangaroo Flat in next Saturday’s preliminary final.

The Kangaroos have made their way from an elimination final to now be in the running for a grand final berth.

Kangaroo Flat was too strong for Eaglehawk under the QEO lights in Saturday night’s first semi-final.

The in-form Kangaroos won 62-51.

Both regular season matches between the preliminary finalists were closely-fought.

Sandhurst won the third round match at the QEO by three goals.

The round 12 match on the Kangaroos’ court at Dower Park ended in a 56-all draw.

In the A-reserve competition, Kyneton stayed in the premiership race after a 48-47 victory against Gisborne in the first semi.

Kangaroo Flat won the second semi against Sandhurst by 11 goals.

A great weekend for the Kangaroos included a 45-39 win by the B-grade line-up against South Bendigo in the first semi.

Kangaroo Flat will now take on a Golden Square team on the rebound from a 55-37 loss to Sandhurst.

Winners in B-reserve were Strathfieldsaye and South Bendigo in the first and second semis respectively.

Gisborne won the 17-under first semi against South Bendigo by 12 goals and will now face a Kangaroo Flat team determined to hit back from a 41-40 loss to Sandhurst in the second semi.

First semi-final scoreboard:

A-grade: Kangaroo Flat 62 d Eaglehawk 51.

A-reserve: Kyneton 48 d Gisborne 47.

B-grade: Kangaroo Flat 45 d South Bendigo 39.

B-reserve: Strathfieldsaye 52 d Sandhurst 44.

17-under: Gisborne 55 d South Bendigo 43.

Second semi-final scoreboard:

A-grade: Gisborne 57 d Sandhurst 45.

A-reserve: Kangaroo Flat 53 d Sandhurst 42.

B-grade: Sandhurst 55 d Golden Square 37.

B-reserve: South Bendigo 47 d Golden Square 30.

17-under: Sandhurst 41 d Kangaroo Flat 40.

Saturday’s preliminary finals at Queen Elizabeth Oval, Bendigo:

A-grade at 3.20pm: Sandhurst v Kangaroo Flat.

A-reserve at 2pm: Sandhurst v Kyneton.

B-grade at 12.40pm: Golden Square v Kangaroo Flat.

B-reserve at 11.20am: Golden Square v Strathfieldsaye.

17-under at 10am: Kangaroo Flat v Gisborne.

Teams through to the September 22 grand finals are Gisborne, A-grade; Kangaroo Flat, A-reserve; Sandhurst, B-grade; South Bendigo, B-reserve; and Sandhurst, 17-under.

  • Beiersdorf
  • Triplem
  • Workspace
  • Zambrero
  • Fresh Fm
  • High Street Xray
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • Sherrin
  • Cub
  • Workforce Xs
  • Bartnprint
  • Burbank
  • Sportspower
  • Afs
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Bendigo Bank

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative