Gisborne’s win against Dragons secures top-three finish

by Nathan Dole

GISBORNE secured a top-three finish and the double chance at finals time as it defeated Sandhurst in the 17th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy on Saturday.

The Bulldogs marked their first hit-out at Queen Elizabeth Oval, venue for all BFNL finals, by scoring an emphatic 45-point victory in the Dragons’ den.

A high-scoring first term ended with Gisborne in front, 5.1 to 4.5.

The Bulldogs kicked clear to lead 51-38 at half-time.

Defences were in control thoughout the third as Gisborne added 2.2 and kept the Dragons to 1.2.

The red, white and blue scored 5.3 to 1.1 in the last to complete a 15.8 (98) to 7.11 (53) victory.

Gisborne’s defence put in a superb effort to restrict the Dragons to just seven goals.

Pat McKenna and Jaidyn Owen led Gisborne’s attack on four and three goals.

The multiple goalkicker for Sandhurst was Lachlan Ross on two.

Best for Gisborne were James Ferry, Nic Doolan, ruckman Josh Grabham, Jake Conolan, Jaidyn Owen and Ethan Minns.

Talented onballer Lachlan Tardrew, who has spent most of the season with Collingwood in the VFL, was best for Sandhurst.

Andy Collins, Jake Pallpratt, Martin Leyden, Zac Pallpratt and Lachlan Ross also worked hard for the Dragons.

A seven-goal blitz in the third quarter put Maryborough in control of clash on home turf with Kangaroo Flat at Barkers Oval in Princes Park.

The Magpies led 54-46 at half-time and then slammed on 7.4 to 2.1 in the third term.

Kangaroo Flat fought on to win the final quarter, 31-15, but it was Maryborough which marked the final home game for Ben Lavars as playing coach with a 17.13 (115) to 14.6 (90) victory.

Lachlan Bond and Chris Freeman kicked four goals for the Magpies as Lachlan Butler chipped in with three.

The Roos’ Liam Collins booted a game-high five goals as Kobe Brown and Damian Wust added two apiece.

Best for Maryborough were onballers Jayden Hooper, Coby Perry and Lachlan Butler, as well as Ty Stewart, Aidan Hare and Kya Lanfranchi.

Key position player Matt Clifford was best for the Roos, along with Kobe Brown, Nathan McHugh, Liam Collins, Nick Lang and Brodie Fry.

Eaglehawk dominated after quarter-time of the match at Canterbury Park to defeat Kyneton by 14 goals.

The Tigers worked hard to be within 11 points of the Borough at quarter-time, but from then on it was the Hawks who scored 15.9 to 3.8.

Jarryd Pertzel booted five goals and had great support from Ben McPhee, four; Brodie Filo, Sam Harper and Ben Thompson, two, as the Hawks won 19.15 (129) to 6.9 (45).

Kyneton’s only multiple goalkicker was Max O’Sullivan on two.

Best for Eaglehawk were Joel Mullen, Ben McPhee, Ryan Gillingham, Jarryd Pertzel, Jack Fallon and Brodie Filo.

Classy midfielder Rhys Magin, Josh Govan, Leyton Chisholm, Hamish Govan, Darcy Harris and Patrick McMarthy worked hard for the yellow and black.

Six-goal hauls by Lachlan Sharp and Troy Coates were a highlight of Strathfieldsaye Storm’s victory against South Bendigo at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

The Bloods were chasing a hat-trick of wins as they took on the ladder-leaders.

Storm led 40-26 at quarter-time and then surged to a 45-point lead by half-time as it scored 7.5 to 2.4 in the second term.

Strathfieldsaye slammed on 8.8 in the third to build a 88-point lead by the last change.

The Bloods never gave up and added 4.3 to 4.4 in the last as Storm won 25.21 (171) to 12.10 (82).

A formidable Strathfieldsaye attack was led by Coates and Sharp, six; Josh Martyn, four; and Patrick Blandford, three.

Leading goalkickers for the Bloods were Kaiden Antonowicz, four; and Dylan McCutcheon, three.

Storm’s best were Jake Moorhead, Sam Heavyside, Shannon Geary, Caleb Sheahan, Hugh Robertson and Lachlan Sharp.

Best for the Bloods were Andrew Vanheumen, Joel Swatton, Connor Robertson, Brody Haddow, Callum Crisp and Tom Brereton.

Renowned for his dash and skill off half-back, Jake Thrum kicked six goals in Golden Square’s win against Castlemaine on the Bulldogs’ turf at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

At the end of a brilliant first term, Golden Square led 7.6 (48) to nil.

It was a far more even contest in the next quarter as the Magpies scored 2.2 and the hosts added 2.3.

Golden Square’s match tally of 43 scoring shots as the ‘Maine had seven was a sign of the Bulldogs’ dominance.

At the final siren, Golden Square led 20.23 (143) to 4.3 (27).

Jake Thrum, six; Jayden Burke, four; Liam Barrett, three; and Jack Geary, two; capitalised on Golden Square’s play at the centre ball-ups and stoppages.

Angus Monfries kicked  three goals for Castlemaine.

Best for Golden Square were Jack Geary, Jake Thrum, ruckman Matt Compston, Ryan Hartley, Jayden Burke and Liam Barrett.

On another tough afternoon, Angus Monfries, Matt Filo, Jake O’Brien, Daniel Easson, Dakota Slingo and Jesse Johnson led the way for Castlemaine.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 295 per cent, 64 points; Eaglehawk 191, 56; Gisborne 204, 52; Golden Square 169, 48; Sandhurst 129, 44; Maryborough 67, 24; Kyneton 58, 20; South Bendigo 68, 16; Kangaroo Flat 50, 16; Castlemaine 24, 0.

The final round in the home and away series will be played next Saturday.

Match of the day will be at Gisborne’s Gardiner Reserve where the Bulldogs meet Golden Square.

Kangaroo Flat faces Eaglehawk at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

Castlemaine takes on South Bendigo at Camp Reserve.

Kyneton and Sandhurst clash in Tigerland at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Strathfieldsaye and Maryborough do battle at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

  • Bendigo Mazda
  • High Street Xray
  • Sportspower
  • Fresh Fm
  • Redonion Creative
  • Coffee Storm
  • Bartnprint
  • Beiersdorf
  • Workforce Xs
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Win Tv
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Afs
  • Sherrin
  • Cub

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative