Storm’s winning streak against Square hits six

by Nathan Dole

STRATHFIELDSAYE Storm’s winning run against Golden Square hit six in Saturday’s 12th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

Since being beaten by Square twice in the 2017 home and away series, Storm has triumphed against the Bulldogs in the qualifying and preliminary finals of that season, both home and away games in 2018, and repeated the dose this year.

The last showdown by the clubs was marked by a brilliant opening three quarters by Strathfieldsaye on Golden Square’s turf at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Storm led 4.10 to 1.3 at half-time and then slammed on 8.1 to 3.4 in the crucial third term.

The Bulldogs fought back to win the last term, 46-14, but it was Strathfieldsaye which took the points in a 14.13 (97) to 11.11 (77) victory.

Lachlan Sharp again led Strathfieldsaye’s attack on five goals, and Hugh Robertson booted two.

Storm had seven players add a goal.

Jayden Burke and Jake Thrum led Golden Square’s attack on three and two goals respectively.

The marking strength of Robertson was a key factor as he earned best afield honours, while Kellan Smith, Kallen Geary, Sam Heavyside, Bryce Curnow and Jake Moorhead won plenty of the ball.

Best for Square were Thrum, Jon Coe, Hamish Morcom, Burke, Ryan Hartley and Matt Compston.

The Bulldogs were without Adam Baird who captained Victoria Country to a one-point victory in the clash with the Victorian Amateurs for the Brian Molony Cup at Carlton’s Ikon Park.

The defeat also sent Square from the third rung to the fourth and in a fight to regain the double chance for the finals.

Sandhurst marked the milestone matches of Nick Stagg, 200th, and Lachlan Ross, 100th, by scoring a 59-point win against South Bendigo.

In the battle of the QEO co-tenants, Sandhurst led 37-26 at half-time and then scored 5.6 to 1.2 in the third term to be up by 39 points at a quarter to go.

Strong defence was a key to the Dragons play as they held the Bloods to just five goals in a 96-37 victory.

Matt Thornton kicked a match-high four goals for Sandhurst as Will Holt and Nick Stagg added two each.

South Bendigo’s leading goalkicker was Brock Harvey on two.

A brilliant defensive game by Isaac Ruff earned best afield honours as Thornton, Ross, Chris Down, Jake Pallpratt and Nick Stagg also starred for the Dragons.

South Bendigo’s best were Brody Haddow, Callum Crisp, Brock Harvey, Tyler McLeod, Andrew Vanheumen and Braydon Torpey.

The Bloods were without coach Nathan Horbury as he represented Victoria Country against the VAFA.

Kyneton made sure it would not be the team that Castlemaine broke its winless run against.

The Tigers played great football to win 14.11 (95) to 3.10 (28) at Kyneton Showgrounds.

Kyneton led 18-11 at quarter-time, but a 5.7 blitz to 1.1 in the second term put the yellow and black well in control.

The classy Rhys Magin won plenty of the ball in midfield and also went on to kick three goals, as did Max O’Sullivan and Hamish Govan.

Castlemaine’s sole goalkicker was Jordan Matera.

Best in a fourth win of the season by the Luke Beattie-coached Tigers were O’Sullivan, Magin, Hamish Govan, Mitch Comben, Ben Xiriha and Shaun Huy.

Matera, Matt Filo, Jake O’Brien, Riley Pedretti and Sam Nettleton worked hard for the Magpies.

Five goals by the talented Sam Harper capped a best afield effort as Eaglehawk beat Maryborough by 116 points.

In a match marked by the return of Michelsen medallist Brodie Filo to Canterbury Park, Eaglehawk had 40 scoring shots in the 24.16 (160) to 6.8 (44) victory and soared to the third rung on the ladder.

A list of 10 goalkickers was led by Harper, five; Riley Saunders, four; Filo, Shaun Knott and Ben McPhee on three.

On a tough afternoon for the Magpies, Chris Freeman kicked two goals.

Best for the Two Blues were Harper, Brodie Collins, Joel Mullen, McPhee, Clayton Holmes and Brodie Filo.

The in-form Coby Perry, Jayden Hooper and Lachlan Butler were best for Maryborough as Zac Polinelli, coach Ben Lavars and Callum Rowe also worked hard.

There were 13 goalkickers for Gisborne in a 99-point victory against Kangaroo Flat at Gardiner Reserve.

Despite going into the match without gun forward Pat McKenna, Victoria Country duty, the Bulldogs had little trouble capitalising on the dominance in the on-ball and midfield duels.

Brad Bernacki and Casey Summerfield kicked three goals apiece for the Clinton Young-coached Gisborne.

Trent McInnes booted two goals for the Roos.

Best for Gisborne were Matt Goodyear, Jaidyn Owen, Summerfield, James Ferry, Scott Walsh and Brad Bernacki.

A highlight for Kangaroo Flat was the play of Brady Rowles in his first senior game.

Best for the Roos were Riley Barrack, Ethan  Roberts, Brodie Fry, Brady Rowles, Dylan Klemm and Liam Collins.

The Robert Bennett-coached Kangaroo Flat always faced a tough hit-out at Gisborne and with several of the club’s best on sidelines because of injury.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 246 per cent, 44 points; Gisborne 236, 40; Eaglehawk 171, 36; Golden Square 169, 36; Sandhurst 146, 32; Maryborough 67, 20; Kyneton 60, 16; South Bendigo 67, 8; Kangaroo Flat 48, 8; Castlemaine 25,0.

A highlight of next Saturday’s round 13 action will be Strathfieldsaye at home to Gisborne at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Maryborough plays Sandhurst at Barkers Oval in Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Kangaroo Flat and Kyneton clash at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

Castlemaine and Eaglehawk do battle at Camp Reserve.

South Bendigo and Golden Square meet at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

  • Afs
  • Bartnprint
  • Redonion Creative
  • Win Tv
  • Cub
  • High Street Xray
  • Beiersdorf
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Sportspower
  • Workforce Xs
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Coffee Storm
  • Fresh Fm
  • Sherrin

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative