Hawks front up to Storm at Canterbury Park

by Nathan Dole

EAGLEHAWK faces a red-hot Strathfieldsaye Storm in Saturday’s big clash in the 10th round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

The Hawks have home-ground advantage at Canterbury Park to take on the undefeated Storm.

Just how the Borough halts the supply to a Storm attack led by Lachlan Sharp, 76 goals; Hugh Robertson, Bryce Curnow and Fergus Payne will be the X-factor in this contest.

Eaglehawk defenders Tyler Miles, Clayton Holmes and Jack Fallon will not only strive to spoil, smother and do all the one per cent plays, but also set up attacks.

The Borough regains D. Williams on a wing, but Ryan Gillingham is out.

In the midfield, Eaglehawk has Williams, Brodie Collins and Riley Saunders to take on Matt and Kellan Smith, and Josh Formosa.

Hawks’ ruckman Cam McGlashan dominated last week’s win against Kangaroo Flat, but faces a much tougher opponent in Harry Crone.

The marking power of Shaun Knott, Sean Williams and Tim Hill will test the Storm defence.

Key players for Storm include Kallen and Shannon Geary on the half-back flanks, Ben Lester at full back, onballer Sam Heavyside and the versatile Bailey Henderson.

In his second year as playing coach at Storm, Troy Coates marks a return to Eaglehawk which he starred for several seasons ago.

Maryborough takes on South Bendigo at Barkers Oval in Maryborough’s Princes Park.

For the Bloods it’s only the second time this season they will chase consecutive victories.

South kicked off the season by beating Maryborough at Queen Elizabeth Oval, but the Magpies are a tougher prospect at home.

Among the four changes at Maryborough are the return of Lachlan Crameri in the ruck and Daniel Vadala.

The Ben Lavars-coached Maryborough has the likes of Jayden Hooper, Matt Bilton, Lachlan Butler and Luke Bucknall to dominate in and around the packs.

Coby Perry, Jake Postle and Jordan Fraser were among the Pies best in the clash with Strathfieldsaye.

Cam Skinner played his 400th club match for Maryborough last round and has held his place.

As Skinner marks game 401, South Bendigo young guns Connor Robertson and Riley Osborne will play their first senior matches.

The son of dual premiership player Craig Osborne, Riley Osborne’s running power and skill is likely to see him placed on a wing, forward flank or pocket.

The Bloods also welcome back the experienced Brad Wright who can have an impact in defence or attack.

First-year coach at South Bendigo, Nathan Horbury is in the centre, while Kaiden Antonowicz is in superb touch at full-forward.


Gisborne has made eight changes to the team beaten by Golden Square last round for its home-game showdown with Castlemaine at Gardiner Reserve.

Ins for the Bulldogs include onballer Matt Goodyear, key defender Antony Belcher, and Liam Spear on a half-back flank.

Gisborne playing coach Clinton Young is suspended, and Casey Summerfield and Jack Scanlon are also on the sidelines.

Restricted to just four goals last week, Gisborne’s attack led by Pat McKenna, Jake Conolan, Seb Bell-Bartels and Brad Bernacki will be fired up.

Castlemaine regains Mitchell Dance at half-forward and Jayden Shea on a wing.

The Magpies will be without gun recruit Angus Monfries, who was handed a one-match suspension at Thursday night’s tribunal hearing.

The experience Angus Monfries has from stints at AFL level with Essendon and Port Adelaide is a huge plus for the young Castlemaine line-up, but the Pies are without him at Gisborne.

Matt Filo in the centre, Sam Simpson, Monfries, Anthony Robins and Daniel Easson were Castlemaine’s best last week.

Sandhurst takes on Kangaroo Flat at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Dragons were forced to work hard to beat Kyneton at the QEO last round.

Sandhurst welcomes back Andy Collins from injury and also has Lachlan Tardrew who is playing for Collingwood in the VFL to line up in attack or an on-ball role.

A strong on-ball division that includes Chris Down in the ruck, Adam Parry in the centre, Blair Holmes and Jake McLean as ruck-rover and rover will test the Roos all match.

Matt Thornton and Will Holt are strong marking targets in the Dragons’ forward 50.

Kangaroo Flat on-ballers Jono Lanyon and Corey Greer have been superb all season.

Players to watch in the Roos line-up include Matt Clifford at centre half-back or centre half-forward, Dylan Klemm, Ross Turner, Liam Collins, Lloyd Needs and Matt Despott.

Golden Square will start favourite against Kyneton on the Bulldogs’ turf at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

The Tigers put in a great effort against Sandhurst last week, but the Bulldogs are likely to have too much running and scoring power to hold across four quarters.

Liam Barrett, Will Lee and Jon Coe were superb in Square’s defence against Gisborne last round.

A powerful midfield and on-ball division is led by Jack Geary, Adam Baird, Liam Barrett, Matt Compston in the ruck, and Hamish Morcom on a wing.

The Tigers will again look to Rhys Magin, Hamish and Josh Govan, Harrison Huntley, Pat McCarthy and Max O’Sullivan to win plenty of contests.

  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • High Street Xray
  • Fresh Fm
  • Afs
  • Win Tv
  • Redonion Creative
  • Sportspower
  • Coffee Storm
  • Beiersdorf
  • Workforce Xs
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Sherrin
  • Bartnprint
  • Cub

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative