Golden Square’s defence outpoints Gisborne

by Nathan Dole

GOLDEN Square’s defence put the screws on Gisborne’s powerful attack in Saturday’s match of the day in round nine of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

The battle of the Bulldogs was played on Golden Square’s turf at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Intense pressure, especially from Golden Square, meant it was a low-scoring showdown.

The home team led 22-1 at quarter-time and worked extremely well to limit Gisborne to a goal in the first half.

Square’s margin was 28 points at three quarter-time after it scored 2.5 to 1.3 in the crucial third term.

The blue and gold did plenty of attacking in the last, but was off target.

At the final siren, Golden Square led 8.16 (64) to 4.8 (32).

The only multiple goalkicker in this match was Golden Square’s Sam Brinsmead on two.

Gisborne’s gun forwards Pat McKenna and Jack Scanlon were held to a goal apiece.

Recruited to Golden Square from Kyabram, Liam Barrett was best afield as Jon Coe, Adam Baird, Will Lee, Jack Geary and Alex Marklew starred.

On a disappointing day for Gisborne, Tim Walsh, Ethan Minns, Josh Grabham, Brad Bernacki and Nick Doolan were best.

The win meant Golden Square drew level with Gisborne on seven victories stayed four points clear of Eaglehawk and Sandhurst in the fight for the double chance at finals time.

A 16-goal haul by Lachlan Sharp was the highlight of Strathfieldsaye’s win at Maryborough’s Barkers Oval in Princes Park.

Storm hits the halfway of the season unbeaten and Sharp on track to pass the century mark and claim another Ron Best Medal as the league’s leading goalkicker.

Strathfieldsaye’s ruthlessness was again on show, particularly in quarters two and three when it scored 18.7 to 4.5.

The Troy Coates-coached Storm again showed it has plenty of goalscoring power in a 29.16 (190) to 6.10 (46) victory against an inexperienced Maryborough line-up.

Sharp’s tally of 16 lifted his season tally to 76 as Josh Martyn and Sam Heavyside kicked three goals apiece in the victory.

Cameron Skinner marked his 400th match for Maryborough by kicking two goals as Jordan Fraser added two.

Best in a star-studded Storm team were Sharp, Heavyside, Bailey Henderson, ruckman Harry Crone, rover-forward Josh Formosa and Shannon Geary.

Bodie Malone, Coby Perry, Jake Postle, Jordan Fraser, Chris Freeman and Cam Skinner worked hard for Maryborough.

Winless since round one, South Bendigo dominated its clash with Castlemaine at Kennington’s Harry Trott Oval.

Seven goals by the classy Kaiden Antonowicz and three by Mitch Goodwin led the Bloods to a 21.24 (150) to 7.11 (53) victory.

A high-scoring opening quarter ended with South in front, 54-22.

From there the Bloods scored 13.18 to 4.7 as Tom Brereton, Antonowicz, coach Nathan Horbury, Goodwin and Will Allen won plenty of contests, capitalised on or set up scoring chances.

Castlemaine’s only multiple goalkicker was Jesse Johnson, two, as Matt Filo, Sam Simpson, Angus Monfries, Anthony Robins and Daniel Easson were best for the Magpies.

Six-goal hauls by Riley Saunders and Sean Williams played a big part in Eaglehawk’s emphatic win against Kangaroo Flat at Canterbury Park.

The Hawks led 25-15 at quarter-time, but then dominated the next two quarters.

A six-goal second term was followed by 10 in the third as the Borough charged to a 100-point lead at a quarter to go.

The Kangaroos did well to outscore the Two Blues, 27-20 in the last term, but it was Eaglehawk which took the premiership points in a 22.19 (151) to 8.10 (58) result.

Ged Hommelhoff, three, and Sam Harper, two, joined in a goalscoring spree of nine players.

The Roos’ leading goalkicker was Lloyd Needs on three.

Eaglehawk’s best were Cam McGlashan, Jesse Collins, Saunders, Sam Harper, Williams and Tim Hill.

Jono Lanyon, Nathan McHugh, Liam Collins, Ross Turner and Mitch Holt were best for Flat.

Sandhurst was under immense pressure from a fired-up Kyneton in the first half at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The Kyneton Tigers were desperate to rebound from scoring just one goal in the previous week’s home game against Eaglehawk.

Sandhurst led 25-15 at quarter-time and 34-28 by the long break.

The Dragons lifted in the vital third term to score 6.5 to 2.2.

Kyneton won the final quarter, 25-20, but it was Sandhurst which took the points, 14.11 (95) to 10.7 (67).

The classy Nick Stagg led Sandhurst’s attack on four goals as Jake McLean and Joel Wharton added three each.

Kyneton’s leading goalkickers were Pat McCarthy, three, Shaun Huy and Max O’Sullivan on two apiece.

Liam Ireland played another great game in Sandhurst’s defence as Stagg, Jake Pallpratt, Isaac Ruff and Jake Condon were in form for the Dragons.

Kyneton’s best were key defender Harrison Huntley, Darcy Harris, Rhys Magin, Josh and Hamish Govan.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 308 per cent, 36 points; Gisborne 183, 28; Golden Square 164, 28; Eaglehawk 158, 24; Sandhurst 128, 24; Maryborough 63, 12; Kyneton 61, 12; South Bendigo 70, 8; Kangaroo Flat 8, 8; Castlemaine 28, 0.

Last season’s grand finalists, Eaglehawk and Strathfieldsaye meet in next Saturday’s 10th round.

The Hawks will be aiming to capitalise on plenty of vocal support on their turf at Canterbury Park.

Maryborough takes on South Bendigo at Barkers Oval in Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Golden Square takes on Kyneton at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Gisborne and Castlemaine clash on the Bulldogs’ turf at Gardiner Reserve.

Sandhurst and Kangaroo Flat do battle at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

  • Coffee Storm
  • Redonion Creative
  • High Street Xray
  • Afs
  • Bendigo Mazda
  • Win Tv
  • Cub
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Sherrin
  • Fresh Fm
  • Sportspower
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Workforce Xs
  • Beiersdorf
  • Bartnprint

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative