Maryborough marks back-to-back victories

by Nathan Dole

IT’S taken a while, but Maryborough celebrated back-to-back victories after Saturday’s eighth round in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

Maryborough was determined to follow up the previous home round win against Kyneton by taking the premiership points on Kangaroo Flat’s ground at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

The Roos had played well to beat South Bendigo in the previous Sunday’s finale to Indigenous Round.

On Saturday, Maryborough led 27-13 at quarter-time and 54-46 at half-time.

In the third term it was the Ben Lavars-coached Magpies who broke the game apart.

The Maryborough line-up slammed on 5.8 to just three behinds to hold a commanding 43-point lead at a quarter to go.

Kangaroo Flat won the last term, 39-26, but the Pies triumphed, 17.16 (118) to 13.10 (88).

Key forward Stewart Crameri kicked a team-high four goals for Maryborough as Jacob Long capped a best on ground performance with three goals.

Liam Latch also played a key role for the Borough by kicking three goals.

Kangaroos’ full-forward Matt Boland booted four goals and Matt Despott added two.

Best for the Magpies were Long, Luke Bucknall, Stewart Crameri, Latch and Bodie Malone.

Gisborne’s winning run rolled on in a hard-fought clash with Sandhurst at Gardiner Reserve.

Both teams had scored crucial wins the previous round – Gisborne at Eaglehawk, and Sandhurst by a point against Golden Square at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It was an evenly-fought first half in Saturday’s match between the Bulldogs and Dragons.

Gisborne led 47-41 at half-time, but then took charge in the third quarter to score 3.5 to 1.1.

Both teams added five goals apiece in the last as Gisborne won 14.20 (104) to 12.6 (78).

Pat McKenna continued a superb season for Gisborne by kicking eight goals.

Bulldogs’ coach Clinton Young and young forward Jack Scanlon added two goals apiece.

Matt Thornton marked game 201 for the Dragons by kicking five goals as Nick Stagg chipped in with two.

It was another best afield performance by McKenna as Ethan Minns, Matt Goodyear, Tim Walsh and Josh Grabham starred for the Bulldogs.

Best for the Dragons were Chris Down, Jake Pallpratt, Stagg, Thornton and Zac Pallpratt.

Stung by consecutive defeats, Eaglehawk hit back in ruthless fashion on Kyneton’s turf at Kyneton Showgrounds.

The Hawks led 63-4 and showed no mercy for the Tigers.

Riley Saunders and Tim Hill kicked five goals apiece and Justin Bateson added three as the Hawks scored 21 goals.

The Borough defence teamed brilliantly to limit the Tigers to just one goal in a 21.14 (140) to 1.9 (15) victory.

Kyneton’s sole goalkicker was classy midfielder Rhys Magin.

A Hawks midfield led by Brodie Collins, Ryan Gillingham and Sam Harper dominated from the first contest.

Cam McGlashan, Bateson and Joel Mullen were in great touch for the Two Blues.

It was a dark day for the yellow and black in which Magin, Josh Govan, James Orr and Hamish Govan did what they could to halt Eaglehawk’s onslaught.

Four goals capped a best afield performance by onballer Adam Baird as Golden Square scored an 87-point victory at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

The play of Baird, Ryan Hartley, Dale Lowry, Jon Coe and Jake Thrum set up plenty of the Bulldogs attacks in the 19.20 (134) to 6.11 (47) victory.

Held to a goal the previous round at Strathfieldsaye, Castlemaine played well to boot six majors this round.

The skill of Angus Monfries was a highlight as he kicked three goals and Bendigo FNL representative Jake O’Brien added two majors for the Magpies.

A tally of 11 goalkickers for Golden Square was led by Baird, four; Alex Marklew, three; Drew Barrett, Brayden Dorrington and Matt Compston, two.

Monfries was Castlemaine’s best and had great support from O’Brien, Matt Filo, Sam Simpson and Jayden Shea.

Strathfieldsaye star Lachlan Sharp marked his 150th senior match for Storm by kicking eight goals in an emphatic win against South Bendigo at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye.

Storm has racked up some huge scores this season, but the defensive play is just as impressive.

In Saturday’s play, Strathfieldsaye held the Bloods to just four goals in which Kaiden Antonowicz was the sole goalkicker for the visitors.

Storm’s goalkicking list was led by Sharp, eight; Fergus Payne, four; Josh Martyn and Riley Wilson on three.

Best for Storm were Sam Heavyside, Bryce Curnow, Sharp, Wilson and Payne.

The Bloods were under immense all match and it was Braydan Torpey, Tom Brereton, Brody Haddow, Sam Maher and Brock Harvey who were best for the red and white.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 296 per cent, 32 points; Gisborne 200, 28; Golden Square 159, 24; Eaglehawk 148, 20; Sandhurst 127, 20; Maryborough 72, 12; Kyneton 60, 12; Kangaroo Flat 61, 8; South Bendigo 58, 4; Castlemaine 28, 0.

In next Saturday’s ninth round, Maryborough takes on Strathfieldsaye at Barkers Oval in Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Eaglehawk clashes with Kangaroo Flat at Canterbury Park.

Golden Square meets Gisborne in the all-Bulldogs showdown at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

South Bendigo and Castlemaine clash at Harry Trott Oval in Neale Street, Kennington.

Sandhurst tackles Kyneton at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

  • Workforce Xs
  • Bendigo Party Hire
  • Afs
  • Coffee Storm
  • Fresh Fm
  • Cub
  • Redonion Creative
  • Beiersdorf
  • High Street Xray
  • Sportspower
  • Bendigo Bank
  • Sherrin
  • Win Tv
  • Bartnprint
  • Bendigo Mazda

Website © Bendigo Football Netball League
Website Design by Red Onion Creative