Sandhurst’s hard-fought win earns third place on ladder

on .

by Nathan Dole

SANDHURST’S hard-fought victory against Kyneton has put the Dragons in third place on the senior football ladder after 15 rounds in the Bendigo Football Netball League season.


The Dragons knocked the Tigers from the third rung in Saturday’s 23-point win at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Wayward kicking in the opening term meant Sandhurst led 1.10 to 0.1 at the break.

Kyneton led 17-16 at half-time, but the Dragons capitalised on chances in the third as they scored 5.5 to a point.

The Tigers had the scoring end in the last, but Sandhurst was able to goal against the trend on their way to a 57-34 victory.

Dragons’ coach Andy Collins scored two goals and Jed Zimmer also kicked two for the winners.

Key defender Matt Thornton took plenty of marks in a best afield performance as Jake Pallpratt, Zeb Broadbent and Jake Wilkinson also starred.

Best for the Tigers were Jake Ward, Hamish Govan, Patrick McCarthy and Taylor Kelly.

Golden Square withstood a spirited challenge from Kangaroo Flat to win by 14 points.

The Bulldogs led 40-31 at half-time of a great contest on Square’s turf in Wade Street.

Just seven points separated the teams at three quarter-time, but it was the Bulldogs who finished the better to win 8.16 (64) to 7.8 (50).

Adam Baird, Callum Draper and Dylan Johnstone all kicked two goals for Square.

Dylan Klemm followed up a great game the previous round by kicking four goals for the Kangaroos.

Baird was best for the winners and had great support from Lachy Humphrey, Jon Coe and Matt Compston.

Kangaroo Flat’s best were Jonathan Lanyon, Liam Collins, Klemm, and Ross Turner.

The “second quarter specialists” tag was again lived up to by Eaglehawk as it scored 7.2 to 2.2 in the second term to turn a three point deficit into a 27-point lead at half-time of its clash with South Bendigo.

It was a back-to for many of Kennington’s former players, officials and supporters as the Bloods took on the Hawks at Harry Trott Oval.

Led by the play of Brodie Collins, Ged Hommelhoff, Cam McGlashan and Sam Harper, Eaglehawk won 20.7 (127) to 13.10 (88).

Brodie Collins kicked four goals as Shaun Knott and Sean Williams chipped in with three each.

Kaiden Antonowicz  increased his lead in the race for the Ron Best Medal as he booted five goals for the Bloods and team-mate Liam Bartels added four.

Isaiah Miller, Bartels, Tom Brereton and Callum Crisp were South Bendigo’s best.

Gisborne scored a 95-point victory on Maryborough’s turf at Princes Park.

The Bulldogs led 72-14 at half-time before the Pies fought back to win the third quarter, 29-22.

It was all Gisborne in the last as the visitors slammed on 6.8 to nil in a 20.18 (138) to 6.7 (43) result.

Jake Conolan led the Gisborne attack on six goals as 11 team-mates joined in the goalkicking spree.

Maryborough’s only multiple goalkicker was Jordan Fraser on two.

Best for Gisborne were Matt Goodyear, Liam Rodgers, Trent Crosbie and Riley Paterson.

Lachlan Bond, Damon Lewis, Brady Neill and Coby Perry worked hard for Maryborough.

Strathfieldsaye Storm kept Castlemaine scoreless at quarter-time in the Magpies nest at Camp Reserve.

Storm led 49-14 at the first break and went on to score 25.25 (175).

Bryce Curnow booted seven goals as gun goalkicker Lachlan Sharp marked his return from injury with four goals.

Castlemaine’s goals were off the boot of Kal Huntly and Jesse Johnson.

Strathfieldsaye’s best were Curnow, Bailey Henderson, Kel Smith and Fergus Payne.

Best for the Magpies were Huntly, Jake O’Brien, Braidon Blake and Darby Semmens.

Match of the day next Saturday is at Canterbury Park where Eaglehawk takes on Sandhurst.

Kangaroo Flat clashes with South Bendigo at Dower Park; Gisborne meets Castlemaine at Gardiner Reserve; Kyneton will aim to end a run of defeats when it plays Maryborough; and Strathfieldsaye Storm clashes with Golden Square.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 52 points, 212 per cent; Eaglehawk 48, 182; Sanndhurst 40, 173; Golden Square 40, 165; Kyneton 38, 131; Gisborne 28, 110; South Bendigo 26, 96; Kangaroo Flat 16, 53; Maryborough 4, 45; Castlemaine 4, 25.