

BENDIGO FOOTBALL NETBALL LEAGUE



HALL OF FAME ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 2025



1.0 General

1.1 Name

The name of the Hall of Fame shall be the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame.

1.2 Objective

The objective of the *Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame* is to recognise those outstanding individuals that have made a significant contribution to Australian Rules Football in the Bendigo Football Netball League. Specifically:

- Players
- Coaches
- Administrators/Special Category
- Umpires
- ➤ Media

1.3 Scope

The *Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame* will be an elite body with a limited membership based on stringent criteria principally based on performances or activities in the Bendigo Football Netball League.

2.0 Hall of Fame

2.1 Criteria

The record of a proposed inductee shall be self evident when reviewed in detail, but to ensure credibility for membership of the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame criteria have been established to guide nominations and their assessment.

Player

- √ 7 years BFNL senior football/netball
- ✓ Interleague representative
- ✓ Retired from BFNL football/netball for five seasons
- ✓ Individual honours
- ✓ Upstanding Character

Coach

- √ 7 years BFNL senior football/netball
- ✓ Interleague representative
- ✓ Retired from BFNL football/netball for five seasons
- ✓ Premierships
- ✓ Upstanding Character

Administrator/Special Category

- ✓ 20 years in executive positions
- ✓ Contributions that have substantially enhanced the reputation or profile of the BFNL
- ✓ Pioneering or innovative approaches to the organisation and management of the BFNL
- ✓ Contributions that have substantially moved or grown the sport and the BFNL
- ✓ Upstanding Character



Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame

Umpire

- √ 8 years umpiring
- ✓ Umpired in grand finals
- ✓ Administration Enhance the relationship between umpires and the clubs
- ✓ Upstanding Character

Media

- √ 15-year active involvement
- ✓ Promoted the BFNL
- ✓ Involved with the BFNL Assisted in a voluntary capacity
- ✓ Upstanding Character

2.2 Nomination Details

To maximise the chance of nomination for the Hall of Fame succeeding it is important that full documentation is provided, including:

- A filled-out nomination form addressing in detail of the Hall of Fame criteria
- A broader biography including some sporting and personal history of the nominated individual, including awards
- One or more good quality photos, including a head shot and action shots of the nominated individual.
- Supporting documentation and evidence, such as copies of newspaper articles, club records, testimonials, etc.

2.3 Nomination Consideration

Nominations must be forwarded to the Bendigo Football Netball League via tom.king@aflcentralvic.com.au for consideration by **5pm Monday 30th June 2025**. The Subcommittee will review the nominations and determine whether they are forwarded to the Board of the BFNL for ratification.

Any nominations will be first considered by a Hall of Fame Subcommittee and if supported shall be voted on by the Board of the Bendigo Football Netball League.

Any decision by the Hall of Fame Subcommittee or the Board in relation to nominations for the Bendigo Football League Hall of Fame shall be final and no appeal can be made in relation to the decision and no correspondence will be entered into. Decisions of the Hall of Fame Subcommittee and Council will be based on a simple majority.

2.4 Selection Panel

The Hall of Fame Selection Panel will consist of two subcommittee's: one for Football and one for Netball. Each subcommittee shall consist of one Chair who will be a BFNL Board Member and up to five other members who shall be appointed by the Board.

2.5 Function

The date and venue for the 2025 Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame Dinner is to be confirmed and tickets will be available for purchase closer to the event.

2.6 Nominations close

Nominations for the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame close on **5pm Monday, 30th June 2025**. Any nominations received after that date will not be accepted for consideration.



Previous Inductees

		1986		
Graham Arthur	Ron Best	Wally Culpitt	Kevin Curran	Eddie Esposito
Reg Ford	George Ilsley	Bob McCaskill	Alan Martin	Peter Moroni
Alf Odgers	George Ogilvie	Clive Philp	Peter Pianto	Colin Rice
Tony Southcombe	Fred Swift	Alan Williams	Greg Williams	Herb Zegelin
		1996		
Bill Bonney	Francis Burke	Frank Crapper	Brendan Hartney	Jack Jefferies
Trevor Keogh	Frank Lenaghan	Alan McDonald	Harry Morgan	Garry Mountjoy
Shane Muir	Peter Tyack			
		2010		
Ron Cawthan	Peter Davey	Peter Fyffe	Tony Kelly	Herb Milburn
Neil Monro	Robert O'Connell	Alan Patterson	Neville Strauch	Ron Threlfall
2014				
Phil Byrne	Gary Evans	Brendan Keane	John Ledwidge	Ron McHardy
Steve McKerrow	Kevin Parks	Stan Plowman	Harry Watts	Ron Wicks
2019				
Carol Bingham	Derrick Filo	John Jefferies	Richie Lee	Geoff Millar
Steven Oliver	Steven Reaper	Matt Sexton	Carol Sing	Graeme Wright