

## **BENDIGO FOOTBALL NETBALL LEAGUE**



# HALL OF FAME NOMINATIONS 2019

## BENDIGO FOOTBALL NETBALL LEAGUE HALL OF FAME

## INDUCTEE NOMINATION FORM

NAME OF NOMINEE:							
<b>NOMINATION CLASSIFICATION:</b> (please $\checkmark$ ) if applicable, more than one box may be ticked.							
Player D C	Coach 🔲 Administrator	Umpire	Media	Volunteer			
Date of Birth/	/	Year of De	eath (if applicable)	]]			
DETAILS:							
	tails including years of service/ tails of significance in the space						
Years of Service	Games Played						
Games Coached	Year	rs Captain					
Games Umpired	Awar	rds received					
Voluntary Service							

#### NOMINEES PARTICIPATION/HISTORY IN BENDIGO FOOTBALL NETBALL LEAGUE:

Please list achievements of nominees in order of quality and other pertinent facts.

If preferred a separate typed sheet can be attached.

<sup>•</sup> Newspaper articles, clippings, and copies of other factual published material may be placed in a packet labeled clearly and attached to the nomination or scans sent by email.

<sup>•</sup> Please carefully read the attached eligibility guidelines for nomination to the ABHF

## Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame

Nominee Details				
Address:				
Postcode:				
Telephone:	Fax:			
Email:				
Signed:	On behalf of:			
Title:	_ Club:			

Please submit in writing to Bendigo Football Netball League, PO Box 871, Bendigo, 3552

or electronically via email to <u>cameron.tomlins@aflcentralvic.com.au</u>

#### NOMINATIONS FOR INDUCTION CLOSE FRIDAY 31st MAY - 2019

### 1.0 General

#### 1.1 Name

The name of the Hall of Fame shall be the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame.

#### 1.2 Objective

The objective of the *Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame* is to recognise those outstanding individuals that have made a significant contribution to Australian Rules Football in the Bendigo Football Netball League. Specifically:

- Players
- Coaches
- Administrators
- Umpires
- > Media

#### 1.3 Scope

The *Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame* will be an elite body with a limited membership based on stringent criteria principally based on performances or activities in the Bendigo Football Netball League.

## 2.0 Hall of Fame

#### 2.1 Brief History

First inaugurated in 1986 the Bendigo Football League Hall of Fame was meant to recognise the efforts of footballers/coaches that had made significant contributions to the game in the BFL. The first twenty inductions were presented at a gala night and inductions were meant to be undertaken every ten years. A subsequent twelve players were inducted in 1996, but it has lapsed since then.

The Bendigo Football Netball League Board has a unique opportunity under the auspices of Project 130 to reinstate the Hall of Fame as the pinnacle of Bendigo's proud football traditions.

#### 2.2 Criteria

The record of a proposed inductee shall be self evident when reviewed in detail, but to ensure credibility for membership of the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame criteria have been established to guide nominations and their assessment.

#### Player

- ✓ 7 years BFNL senior football/netball
- ✓ Interleague representative
- ✓ Retired from BFNL football/netball for five seasons
- ✓ Individual honours
- ✓ Upstanding Character

#### Coach

- ✓ 7 years BFNL senior football/netball
- ✓ Interleague representative
- ✓ Retired from BFNL football/netball for five seasons
- ✓ Premierships
- ✓ Upstanding Character

#### Administrator/Special Category

- ✓ 20 years in executive positions
- ✓ Contributions that have substantially enhanced the reputation or profile of the BNFL
- $\checkmark$  Pioneering or innovative approaches to the organisation and management of the BFNL
- ✓ Contributions that have substantially moved or grown the sport and the BFNL
- ✓ Upstanding Character

#### Umpire

- ✓ 8 years umpiring
- ✓ Umpired in grand finals
- ✓ Administration Enhance the relationship between umpires and the clubs
- ✓ Upstanding Character

#### Media

- ✓ 15-year active involvement
- ✓ Promoted the BFNL
- $\checkmark\,$  Involved with the BFNL Assisted in a voluntary capacity
- ✓ Upstanding Character

#### 2.3 Nomination Details

To maximise the chance of nomination for the Hall of Fame succeeding it is important that full documentation is provided, including:

- A filled-out nomination form addressing in detail of the Hall of Fame criteria
- A broader biography including some sporting and personal history of the nominated individual, including awards
- One or more good quality photos, including a head shot and action shots of the nominated individual.
- Supporting documentation and evidence, such as copies of newspaper articles, club records, testimonials, etc.

#### 2.4 Nomination Consideration

Nominations must be forwarded to the Bendigo Football Netball League for consideration. The Subcommittee will review the nominations and determine whether they are forwarded to the Board of the BFNL for ratification.

Any nominations will be first considered by a Hall of Fame Subcommittee and if supported shall be voted on by the Board of the Bendigo Football Netball League.

Any decision by the Hall of Fame Subcommittee or the Board in relation to nominations for the Bendigo Football League Hall of Fame shall be final and no appeal can be made in relation to the decision and no correspondence will be entered into. Decisions of the Hall of Fame Subcommittee and Council will be based on a simple majority.

#### 2.5 Selection Panel

The Hall of Fame Subcommittee shall consist of up to six members of which one shall be a member of the Board of the Bendigo Football Netball League. The other five members of the Subcommittee shall be appointed by the Board.

BFNL Board Member Peter Davey will chair the meetings and the committee members are: -Paul Byrne, Ron Cawthan, Andrew Jakubans, Richard Jones, Peter Tyack, and Cath Wicks.

#### 2.7 Function

The Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame Dinner will be held at the All Seasons Bendigo. Tickets will be available for purchase closer to the event.

#### 2.8 Nominations close

Nominations for the Bendigo Football Netball League Hall of Fame close on Friday, 30<sup>th</sup> May 2019. Any nominations received after that date will not be accepted for consideration.

## **Previous Inductees**

1986	1996	2010	2014
Graham Arthur	Bill Bonney	Ron Cawthan	Phil Byrne
Ron Best	Francis Burke	Peter Davey	Gary Evans
Wally Culpitt	Frank Crapper	Peter Fyffe	Brendan Keane
Kevin Curran	Brendan Hartney	Tony Kelly	John Ledwidge
Eddie Esposito	Jack Jefferies	Herb Milburn	Ron McHardy
Reg Ford	Trevor Keogh	Neil Monro	Steve McKerrow
George Ilsley	Frank Lenaghan	Robe <mark>rt O'Connell</mark>	Kevin Parks
Bob McCaskill	Alan McDonald	Alan Patterson	Stan Plowman
Alan Martin	Harry Morgan	Neville Strauch	Harry Watts
Pete <mark>r Moroni</mark>	Garry Mountjoy	Ro <mark>n Threlfall</mark>	Ron Wicks
Alf Odgers	Shane Muir		
George Ogilvie	Peter Tyack		
Clive Philp	IGO FOOTBALI	NETBALL LE	AGUE /
Peter <mark>Pianto</mark>			
Colin <mark>Rice</mark> —	ALC	FRAM	1
Tony Sou <mark>thcombe</mark>			
Fred <mark>Swift</mark>			
Alan Williams	EGRITY - TRADIT	ION ~ EXCELLEN	CE
Greg Williams		and the second s	and the state
Herb Zegelin			